COVID-19 (new coronavirus): There is a COVID-19 emergency proclamation in Oklahoma City. Visit for updates and details.

Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Commission consists of nine Oklahoma City residents appointed by the Mayor with the consent and approval of the City Council.

Each of the City's eight Wards is represented by a Planning Commissioner, and one member is appointed at-large. The Commission meets at 1:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 1:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers on the third floor of City Hall, 200 N Walker Ave. For a complete list of the Planning Commission Schedule, including submission deadlines is here. The Planning Commission Secretary is the Planning Director, and the Planning Commission is staffed by the Development Services Department.

The Planning Commission adopts the Comprehensive Plan. A comprehensive plan is a policy document used by city leaders, developers, business owners and citizens to make decisions about future growth and development. This document provides long range policy direction for land use, transportation, economic development, housing, public services, and natural and cultural resources. It serves as a guide for elected and public officials by providing the framework for evaluating development proposals. It lays out a community vision and priorities and describes, where, how, and in some cases when, development should occur.

A new comprehensive plan for Oklahoma City, planokc, was adopted by the Planning Commission and the City Council in 2015.


The Planning Commission is the recommending body for all zoning applications. The Planning Commission recommends approval or denial based on the Comprehensive Plan. The application is forwarded to the City Council with the Planning Commission’s recommendation. The application is ultimately decided by the City Council.

Subdivision Regulations

The Planning Commission also adopts the Oklahoma City Subdivision Regulations. These regulations provide for the proper arrangement of streets, open spaces, traffic, utilities, access of firefighting apparatus, recreation, and for the avoidance of population congestion, including minimum width and area of lots.


  • At Large
    Rusty LaForge
  • Ward 1 
    Nate Clair
  • Ward 2 
    Janis Powers
  • Ward 3
    Mary Coffey
  • Ward 4
    Mike Privett
  • Ward 5 
    Matt Hinkle
  • Ward 6 
    Asa Highsmith
  • Ward 7 
    Camal Pennington
  • Ward 8 
    Scott Cravens