How Do I Plead Not Guilty?
To plead not guilty, you must post a bond before your arraignment date to have a trial.
· The cost to post a bond includes the amount of the ticket plus a $35 bond fee. Please contact Municipal Court to discuss the options available if you don’t have the ability to post a cash bond.
· Please read our Traffic and Criminal Trial Information brochure to assist you with preparing for your case.
What if I failed to appear in court?
· The cost of your original ticket may increase. Also, there will be a separate charge of failure to appear in court, which will result in additional fines and costs.
· A warrant may be issued and your driver’s license could be suspended. If you have a valid medical excuse or documentation of being incarcerated, bring documentation to court.
· If you do not live in Oklahoma, call 405-297-2361 to find out your options for this to be resolved. If you are arrested, you may be required to post a bond to be released from jail.
How do I find out if my driver’s license is suspended?
Contact the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at 405-425-2098 to find out if your driver’s license is suspended. Also, they can provide the fee amount that must be paid to get your driver’s license reinstated.
What if my equipment is now in compliance after receiving the ticket?
Provide proof in person on/or before your arraignment date to receive a $30 reduction.
What if my tag is now in compliance after receiving the ticket?
Provide proof in person with your payment to receive a $30 reduction.
What if I had insurance at the time the Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance ticket was issued?
· You can appear no later than the business day before the first scheduled arraignment date and show proof you had valid insurance at the time the citation was issued, the citation shall be dismissed without court costs.
· If the case is not in warrant status and you did not have valid insurance at the time the citation was issued but has obtained insurance, shown proof and chooses to enter a plea of guilty or no contest, $50 of the existing fine amount shall be suspended without an appearance in Court.
· In all other circumstances, you shall be checked in for the next available arraignment docket or may be granted a 30 day continuance with no additional fees assessed.
What if I do not comply with the requirements of driving school?
If all requirements are not completed by the due date, a conviction will be entered and the charge will be reported to the Department of Public Safety. Also, the City Prosecutor will be notified. Not all violations are approved for driving school.
What should I do after completing driving school?
After meeting all conditions and successfully completing the driver improvement course, you are required to submit the original certificate of completion to us by the scheduled completion date. Upon timely receipt of the certificate, the case will be dismissed.
How do I sign up for driving school?
You are required to contact us to sign up for driver improvement school. You must request driving school before your court date either by phone at (405) 297-3898 or in person at the Customer Service Window.
What are the eligibility requirements to attend driving school?
You may be assigned to attend driver improvement school to resolve a single, active, traffic violation without having to attend court if all of the following conditions are met:
- You must have a valid driver's license.
- If you were operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense alleged, or you are licensed to drive commercially anywhere within the Unites States of America, you are not eligible to participate in this program.
- You must not have had a traffic violation through participation in the Oklahoma City Municipal Court Driver Improvement Program in the past three years.
- You must enter a plea of no contest or guilty to the case and sign the enrollment form.
- You must pay a $50.00 administrative fee and a $50.00 driving school administrative fee (totaling $100), plus court costs at the time of enrollment (no exceptions).
What is the Driving School?
The Driver Improvement School is an option to keep your ticket from being reported as a conviction on your driving record.
Can I take driving school if I have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)?
If you were operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense alleged, or you are licensed to drive commercially anywhere within the United States of America, you are not eligible to participate in this program.
Please contact the Department of Public Safety (405) 425-2820 to discuss options available.