STATE OF EMERGENCY: Visit for updates and details on the COVID-19 (new coronavirus) emergency proclamation.

The Mayor and Council are elected for 4 year terms. The Mayor is elected in even number years each succeeding fourth year. Council is elected in odd numbered years. Wards 1, 3, 4, and 7 are elected in the same odd numbered year and Wards 2, 5, 6, and 8 are elected in the same odd numbered year. Officer elections are held on the second Tuesday of February (Primary) and if necessary, the first Tuesday of April (General).  

Oklahoma City holds non-partisan elections and there are no term limits. The Mayor-elect and Councilmember-elect are sworn in on the first Tuesday following the receipt of the election results. 

Special elections are called by the Mayor for issuance of bonds, Charter amendments, and initiative petitions.