STATE OF EMERGENCY: Visit for updates and details on the COVID-19 (new coronavirus) emergency proclamation.

MAPS 4 Citizens Advisory Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The MAPS 4 Citizens Advisory Board and its six subcommittees are similar to counterparts in MAPS 3. They are subject to Oklahoma’s Open Records Act and Open Meeting Act.

The board will meet monthly. Visit for meeting agendas.

The subcommittees will focus on planning and implementation of certain projects, bringing recommendations to the full advisory board. The advisory board makes recommendations to the Oklahoma City Council, which has final authority over MAPS 4.

Mayor David Holt and the Council have not yet named members of the six subcommittees.

The MAPS 4 Citizens Advisory Board’s 11 members are:

  • Teresa Rose Crook, Chairperson (at-large)
  • Brenda Hernández (at-large)
  • Russell Pace, Jr. (Ward 1)
  • Allie Shinn (Ward 2)
  • Harry Black (Ward 3)
  • Shay Morris (Ward 4)
  • Kevin Guarnera (Ward 5)
  • Daisy Muñoz (Ward 6)
  • Monique Bruner (Ward 7)
  • Bob Nelon (Ward 8)
  • Ward 8 Councilman Mark Stonecipher (rotating Council member)

The advisory board members representing each ward were recommended to the Mayor for appointment by the Council member representing that ward.

The board will elect a vice chair.

The terms will be staggered at first, with some members serving shorter initial terms to ensure some positions are eligible for re-appointment every year of the MAPS 4 program. All subsequent terms will be for three years.

The terms for Nelon, Guarnera and Shinn expire in 2021, followed by Bruner, Morris and Pace in 2022 and Muñoz, Black, Hernández and Rose Crook in 2023. Members are eligible for re-appointment. Councilman Stonecipher’s term as the rotating Council member expires in 2022.

About the Chairperson

Teresa Rose Crook is executive director of the Communities Foundation of Oklahoma, a nonprofit that helps philanthropic organizations and donors make meaningful contributions to important causes.

Rose Crook also serves on the MAPS 3 Citizens Advisory Board’s Scissortail Park Subcommittee, Greater Oklahoma City Chamber Executive Committee, Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation board, Oklahoma City Civic Center Foundation board, SSM Health Oklahoma advisory board, Oklahoma Hall of Fame board, BancFirst community board and i2E board.

Rose Crook’s previous professional experience includes leadership positions at the Oklahoma City Community Foundation, Chesapeake Energy Corp., The Center for Education Law, Oklahoma City University’s Performing Arts Academy and the Oklahoma State Department of Education. She was also a founding member of the Palomar OKC Family Justice Center, founding board chair of ReMerge and chair of the OKC Schools Compact.

She has Bachelor of Science degrees in English and education from OCU, and a Juris Doctorate from OCU’s School of Law.

Rose Crook and her husband, Randy, have four children and two dogs.

About the subcommittees

Each of the six MAPS 4 Citizens Advisory Board subcommittees is dedicated to a specific project or group of projects.

The subcommittees will each have two members from the advisory board, who the Mayor will designate as the subcommittees’ chair and vice chair. Each subcommittee will also have five to seven at-large members. The full advisory board’s chair and City Council member may also serve as non-voting members.

The six subcommittees and their dedicated projects are:

Like the board members, the subcommittee members will be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council. The terms do not have limits, but the Mayor can remove members at any time, with or without cause.

Visit for more details on MAPS 4 and the history of Oklahoma City’s MAPS programs.