STATE OF EMERGENCY: Visit for updates and details on the COVID-19 (new coronavirus) emergency proclamation.

City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

2019-20 Oklahoma City Youth Council takes office

Post Date:08/13/2019 11:06 AM

Eighteen Oklahoma City high school students took office Tuesday as members of the 2019-20 Youth Council, kicking off nine months of hands-on education in public service.

Each of Oklahoma City’s eight Wards has two representatives, and they’re joined by two at-large representatives. Youth Council members were introduced during Tuesday’s City Council meeting.

The Youth Council will work with the City Council member in their Ward and City staff to learn about the challenges and successes of municipal government. The Youth Council will also help address issues affecting Oklahoma City’s youth in a series of meetings, seminars and more.

Applications for next year’s Youth Council will be available in early 2020.

The Youth Council is sponsored by the City of Oklahoma City and is jointly administered with the Youth Leadership Exchange. Debbie Forshee and police Maj. Dexter Nelson are program co-chairs.

This year’s members are:

  • Nicholas Sayegh (at-large), Western Heights High School senior
  • Katherine Hill (at-large), Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School senior
  • Samuel Emesiani (Ward 1), Putnam City High School senior
  • Cameron Pennington (Ward 1), Putnam City West High School senior
  • Francisco Hernandez (Ward 2), Putnam City High School junior
  • Maya Shadid (Ward 2), Classen School of Advanced Studies senior
  • Jorge Peña (Ward 3), Western Heights High School senior
  • Desiree Rickett (Ward 3), Mustang High School senior
  • Lane Youngblood (Ward 4), Carl Albert High School senior
  • Mackenzie Reeves (Ward 4), Moore High School senior
  • Julieta Ibarra (Ward 5), Santa Fe South High School senior
  • Brinkli Abbitt (Ward 5), Southmoore High School senior
  • Jesus Barragan (Ward 6), Southeast High School senior
  • Fidel Fraire (Ward 6), Classen School of Advanced Studies senior
  • Teresa Sorrels (Ward 7), Mount St. Mary Catholic High School senior
  • Fiza Sheikh (Ward 7), Edmond Santa Fe High School senior
  • Gladys Green (Ward 8), Edmond North High School senior
  • Megan Neaves (Ward 8), Deer Creek High School senior

# # #

Media Contact
Kristy Yager
(405) 297-2550

Return to full list >>