City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

New and re-elected Oklahoma City Council members begin 4-year terms

Post Date:04/09/2019 8:51 AM

Newly elected Ward 2 Councilman James Cooper and Ward 6 Councilwoman JoBeth Hamon were sworn in Tuesday to four-year terms on the Oklahoma City Council alongside re-elected Ward 5 Councilman David Greenwell and Ward 8 Councilman Mark Stonecipher.

The Council members took the oath of office at the start of Tuesday’s meeting in the Council Chamber on the third floor of historic City Hall.

All four won their seats with majority victories in February’s primary election. It’s Councilman Greenwell’s third term and Councilman Stonecipher’s second. Councilman Cooper and Councilwoman Hamon succeeded former Councilman Ed Shadid and former Councilwoman Meg Salyer, neither of whom sought re-election.

The nonpartisan Oklahoma City Council has nine members: the Mayor, who is elected citywide, and one member from each of the City’s eight Wards. The members serve part-time at the head of the City’s Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor’s annual salary is $24,000, and Council members earn $12,000.

See a Ward map at

The next Oklahoma City Council election is in 2021 for Wards 1, 3, 4 and 7. The candidate filing period will be in late 2020, with a primary election in early 2021 followed by a runoff if necessary.

# # #

Media Contact
Kristy Yager
(405) 297-2550 / (405) 863-2831

Return to full list >>