City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Cooper, Greenwell, Hamon and Stonecipher win election to Oklahoma City Council

Post Date:02/12/2019 9:08 PM

Councilmen David Greenwell and Mark Stonecipher were re-elected and James Cooper and JoBeth Hamon won open seats in Tuesday’s Oklahoma City Council primary election.

Ward 2 Councilman-elect Cooper and Ward 6 Councilwoman-elect Hamon won majority victories in races with more than two candidates, avoiding a runoff. Ward 5 Councilman Greenwell and Ward 8 Councilman Stonecipher were re-elected with head-to-head victories in their races.

All election results are unofficial until certified by the Oklahoma County Election Board.

Councilman-elect Cooper, Councilman Greenwell, Councilwoman-elect Hamon and Councilman Stonecipher will take the oath of office before the April 9 Council meeting to begin four-year terms.

The City Council has nine members: the Mayor, who is elected citywide, and one member from each of Oklahoma City’s eight Wards. They serve part-time at the head of the City’s Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor’s annual salary is $24,000, and each Council member’s annual salary is $12,000.

The next Council election is in Wards 1, 3, 4, and 7 in 2021. The next mayoral election is in 2022. See a Ward map at

# # #

Media Contact
Kristy Yager
(405) 297-2550 / (405) 863-2831

Return to full list >>