There are more ways than ever to stay updated on City of OKC news and events.

Check out our news releases below. You can also engage with us on social media, subscribe to our email newsletter and news alerts and download our smartphone apps. You can watch City of OKC news programs and more on Cox Channel 20, which is streamed live on our YouTube channel.

Mayor David Holt sworn in, begins four-year term

Post Date:04/10/2018 8:45 AM

Mayor David Holt took the oath of office Tuesday as Oklahoma City’s 36th Mayor, starting his four-year term by leading his first City Council meeting.

Oklahoma City voters chose Mayor Holt on Feb. 13 as the successor to four-term former Mayor Mick Cornett, who did not seek re-election.

“It is the great honor of my life to be the Mayor of my hometown, Oklahoma City,” said Mayor Holt. “Writing the next chapter of our City’s history begins today, and we’ll write it together as one OKC.”

Mayor Holt, 39, assumes office as the youngest current mayor of an American city with more than 500,000 residents. He’s also Oklahoma City’s first Mayor of American Indian descent.

He’s an Oklahoma City native, an executive at an investment company and a former City employee who served for five years as former Mayor Cornett’s chief of staff.

Mayor Holt says his top responsibilities are to continue Oklahoma City’s positive momentum, and ensure that success reaches every part of the community. To accomplish this, Mayor Holt pledges to:

  • Maintain improvements in streets, transit and infrastructure.
  • Continue to invest in police and fire protection.
  • Promote an environment for job growth.
  • Sustain our commitment to quality of life through MAPS and other initiatives.
  • Work together to support public education.
  • Incorporate the diversity of our City in decision making.

The Mayor is one of nine members of the Oklahoma City Council. The other members represent each of Oklahoma City’s eight Wards.

The Council is nonpartisan and members serve part-time at the head of the City’s Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor’s annual salary is $24,000, and Council members’ annual salary is $12,000.

# # #

Media Contact
Kristy Yager
(405) 297-2550 / (405) 863-2831

Return to full list >>