Click here to return to home page
Font Size RegularLargeXL FontXXL Font


The Planning Department works to improve the welfare of people and the community by creating more convenient, equitable, healthful, efficient, and attractive place for present and future generations.

That's a big order and it requires involvement and interest from the whole community. Planning enables civic leaders, businesses, and citizens to play a meaningful role in creating a great city that balances new development and essential services, environmental protection, and innovative change. 

The Planning Department has four divisions:

The Administration Division manages the overall business operations of the department, and also houses Grants Administration, the Office of Sustainability, and the Office of Arts and Cultural Affairs.

The Current Planning and Urban Design Division manages several of the City’s special design districts, such as Historic Preservation, Downtown, Scenic River, and Urban Design, as well as conducts code-related studies and development review studies.  

The Housing and Community Development Division manages numerous federal and state grants that support development of affordable housing, revitalization of neighborhoods, economic development and homeless assistance.

The Urban Redevelopment Division provides planning services and technical assistance to support public, private and nonprofit development primarily in the downtown and urban core.

Oklahoma City Planning Department
Aubrey Hammontree, Planning Director
420 W. Main, 9th Floor
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Administration / Main (405) 297-2576
Fax (405) 297-1631
Arts and Cultural Affairs (405) 297-1740
Current Planning & Urban Design (405) 297-1624
Housing and Community Development (405) 297-2846
Urban Redevelopment (405) 297-1637