Public Information & Marketing

2007 News Items

2008 News Items

2009 News Items

The City of Oklahoma City

Youth Council members announced

(August 2, 2010) - Eighteen juniors and seniors representing 16 high schools have been chosen to represent the 2010-2011 Youth Council of Oklahoma City.  

Youth Council is an eight-month-long leadership program that gives participants a first-hand look at how Oklahoma City’s government operates. 

Youth Councilors participate in everything from police and fire training exercises to air traffic control simulations and security checks.  Members also attend neighborhood meetings, banquets and official events with City Council members.

The at-large students will shadow Mayor Cornett as he performs his duties, while members from each of the eight wards will work with their individual Council representatives.

“Our Youth Council program is important because it gives high school students a voice in City government,” said City Council chief of staff Debi Martin. “Our goal is to groom future City leaders.”

The students were selected based on their grades, application and interview.

Members of the 2010-2011 Youth Council of Oklahoma City are:

Madison Reddick – Bishop McGuinness High School
Oliver Ting – Classen School of Advanced Studies

Ward 1:
David Assaleh -  Putnam City North High School
Dayton Willis – Putnam City West High School

Ward 2:
Danielle Rhodes – Advanced Science and Technology Education Center (ASTEC)
Corey Winston – Millwood High School

Ward 3:
Tiffanie Cox – Mustang High School
Megan Snodgrass – Mustang High School

Ward 4:
Cody Huffine – Western Heights High School
Stephanie Terrazas – Del City High School

Ward 5:
MaryAnn Grover – Bishop McGuinness High School
Andy Habib – Christian Heritage Academy

Ward 6:
Jennifer Nunez – Capitol Hill High School
Annie Stephenson – Oklahoma School of Science and Math

Ward 7:
Matthew Hewes – Edmond Memorial High School
Aaron Jech – Harding Charter High School

Ward 8:
David Ding – Edmond Santa Fe High School
Aslan Maleki – Putnam City North High School

Youth Council of Oklahoma City is sponsored by The City of Oklahoma City and jointly administered by the City and Youth Leadership Exchange of Leadership Oklahoma City.

Contact:  Debi Martin, 297-2569
Kristy Yager, 297-2550

 end of story